Wurm 1.0: Ultimate Makeover Edition

It’s been a while since I’ve posted any updates here – sorry about that. Life got crazy with a new job that requires a 1.5-2 hour commute each way (I know, I know) and a bunch of other weirdness. Generally what little time I do have to play during the week I’d rather spend playing rather than blogging, but I’m hoping to maybe post a an update on the weekends. No promises, but we’ll see how it goes. 🙂

So! Gaming. I really don’t have time to play multiple games, so at this point I’m playing the one game that has ruined me on all other MMOs: Wurm Online. There’s always something else to do in Wurm, and I enjoy the freedom that it gives me to determine my own goals. Since I blogged last, Wurm 1.0 released along with all the updates it brought: multi-story buildings, animations, character customization, new graphics, etc. I’ve been super-impressed at just how much the Wurm team has improved the game with 1.0. Let’s take a look at how Avonlea Bay has changed since we spoke last…

wurm.20130217.1738

The big story is multi-story, really. When 1.0 went live all our houses lost their auto-roofs and we were stuck with roofless buildings to work our magic on. Above is the workshop, which has an added second story and balcony… oh yes, balconies are now possible.

wurm.20130217.1739

The new and improved Wild Boar Inn. I tried this time to make it more like a proper fantasy-style inn, with a meeting room and kitchen downstairs and the bedrooms upstairs. Balconies are a must, of course.

wurm.20130217.1743_1

The new winery, which is what used to be a villager house. I really love the way it turned out, with the wood on top of stone – it looks like a proper estate winery.

wurm.20130217.1742_3

Because I can’t leave well enough alone, and because Raamkozijin showed me a picture of his horse pen setup, I tore down part of some old farm fields and am in the process of building proper stables with attached horse pens and enchanted grass.

wurm.20130217.1745_2

My husband decided to expand upon his ironworks building, which then turned into a treehouse, and then ended up turning into a compound. I think he’s still building on it. What you can’t see here is that there is actually a tower reaching up towards the sky – it’s very peaceful up there among the treetops.

wurm.20130217.1744_1

I also managed to get a male chicken from my pal Fatboy. Chickens seem to be super-rare as they’re difficult to take care of, but I’m going to give it a shot. Eventually I want to get a hen as well and see if I can start a bit of egg production. These little chickens need a LOT of corn laying around to keep them fed – it’ll be interesting to see if I can keep up with their needs.

In addition to all the craziness on-deed, I’ve been working like a madwoman off-deed. I finished Dead Mans Highway, a 2-tile-wide road extending from our alliance region northwards, connecting the SE to the NE. My next big plan is extending the highway all the way to Esert –  I’m a glutton for punishment. I’ve also been making and planting signage to a new market in the Esert area, and doing some terraforming and landscaping along the highways around there.

On top of all that, we’ve been playing musical deeds in our region, reshuffling deeds around. I disbanded Medway Plantation so that my pal Xalorum could deed a smaller tract of it close to the coast. He in turn disbanded his deed, which was right on the highway path, so that project could be completed. Revnik deeded a large tract of coastline to the east of us, which used to be part of a deed that dropped a while back.  I bought Jewelspar from Mayrin, restored it to nature, and it has now been renamed Cherryglade Hill, after my old independence deed. And to top it all off, I deeded a tract of land just to the north of Avonlea Bay and Trueknight Haven to act as a forest sanctuary extension to those two deeds.

Phew!

A big welcome to new Brawler Delerium who now resides at Hannibal Retreat in our region as well. Always nice to have a new Brawla!

For now though, it’s time to get back to building fences!

One thought on “Wurm 1.0: Ultimate Makeover Edition

Leave a Reply

