ArenaNet Just Keeps On Making Me Smile…

… and sometimes tear up a bit. This time, with no advance notice, we heard @ElixabethClaire mention that a NPC called Historian Goshkia had been spotted in the Imperators Core in the Black Citadel. For those of you that aren’t familiar with Gaiscioch, we always tell folks that it’s pronounced “gosh-kia”, so this was a bit of an eyebrow raiser for us. When yesterday’s one-hour stress test was announced, I knew immediately that I wanted to go find this Historian and see if it was true.

Folks, he’s there. And he tells the grand tale of Rall Oldroar, a great Charr hero and mentor.

The real Oldroar wanted to play a Charr, and now his voice, his leadership abilities, and his love for teaching others has been immortalized in-game. This, along with the Sanctum of Rall server name, and now Syp’s daughter being given an NPC in the game just goes to show how much heart and passion that ArenaNet has for their community. Thank you ArenaNet for everything that you have done for us fans throughout the development of Guild Wars 2. We are wishing you a FANTASTIC headstart and launch, and much success afterwards. You totally deserve it!

6 thoughts on “ArenaNet Just Keeps On Making Me Smile…

  1. scarybooster

    I can’t read the dialogue it’s a bit emotional. Even though I didn’t know him, it’s touching and chilling to know ANet did this. They are amazing. I hope this game lasts for a long time and people enjoy it. So much heart

    Reply
  2. Lakshmi

    I visited Historian Goshkia in the last stress test, and I admit I cried a little too when I read the dialog. And was a little awestruck too.

    Where Guild Wars seems different to me is the range of emotions it taps. What’s that Maya Angelou quote? People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel. Conquest, victory, competition… sure, but practically every game does that well enough; dark, brutal content seems to be easy to generate. I’ve played many MMOs, and honestly the only experiences I remember on a viceral level are first ones, now many years ago, in Everquest.

    If ArenaNet keeps finding new emotions to attach us to GW2 maybe it will make some new “remember forever” memories for us all.

    Reply
    1. Moxie

      I agree Lakshmi. One thing that struck me this morning is that right now, before the game has even officially launched, we’re already personally invested in Tyria, because it’s not just the stories that the writers have written for us, but it’s OUR stories as well that are there. While other developers have done this sort of thing before, ArenaNet seems to go above & beyond, every single time.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Guild Warscraft, No Decision Needed – #GW2 #WoW | Jegital

  4. Kitten

    I was young when Guild Wars came out. It was the first MMO my Father and I played together. I used to spend hours upon hours watching him play Diablo 2: Lord of Destruction. When I joined my first guild, I was nervous people would be embarrassed to play with a 13 year old girl. It was quite the opposite. Over time, I had made bonds of friendship with people that were stronger than I could ever describe. I had found myself a second family.

    Gaming, especially in the MMO realm, has given me the chance to meet so many people. I’ve had my fair share of bad experiences, sure. But with the bad came the wonderful. I now have a group of friends that will do anything for me, and I them. I cannot imagine the sadness this great man’s passing must have brought them. I cannot imagine losing one of my own.

    My heart goes out to his friend’s and family, and to his guild mates. I only wish I could’ve met him myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

