Bring Me A Shrubbery!

Last week I wrote about the opportunity I had to design my friend’s Wurm Online deed, and I received permission from him to share it with you! There’s (literally) a lot of ground to cover here, so let’s get started!

The real Medway Plantation

My friend grew up in South Carolina, just minutes away from Medway Plantation, which was built in 1686 and was bought in 1930 by Gertrude Legendre, who was a big-game hunter, Office of Strategic Services employee, and the first American woman to be captured in World War II. She died in 2000 and the estate has since then gone on the market. Since the estate has been closed to the public for years, all we had to go by were pictures and the video below.

The physical Medway has a large mansion, 4 guesthouses, a lakeside lodge, an oak-lined avenue leading beside large pastures, pine forests, formal gardens, and a 12-stall horse stable, and I wanted to incorporate all of these features into the design.

The virtual Medway started with a 81×21 tile deed with a standard 5-tile perimeter, situated with a lake at the front, a forest at the back, and a tricky hill on the lower right side that would have to be accounted for. Also, my friend had already terraformed an L-shaped terrace in the middle of the deed, and I didn’t want him to have to re-do all that work, so that was going to stay too. My friend particularly enjoys forestry, so plenty of trees were a must, as was lots of space for visitors and a good setup for leveling just about any skill in Wurm. I loaded up Wurm Planner and set to work.

What I ended up with was this (click the graphic for a larger version):

It’s a lot to take in, so let me show you some of the highlights.

Formal Gardens

I typically like to start my deed designs from the token in the middle and work to the outside. In Wurm, your deed token looks like a sundial, so when I saw this picture of a sundial in the middle of a formal garden area, I knew I had my perfect starting point. I used rose bushes and small fruit trees to make up the greenery. Also, while they’re not in the actual picture but I thought some statuary would add more visual interest, so statues will go on the four corners. This area also serves as the “hub” of the deed, with paths leading to the other areas.

 

The Main Avenue

This, while perhaps being the easiest part of the deed to set up, will almost certainly be the prettiest as well. Oak trees in Wurm are tricky; since they are so large they will kill any other trees around them, so you have to allow at least 2 tiles of space between each tree. Normally I’d put trees directly on either side of a path, but since these are oaks, I’m leaving an extra tile between the path and the trees. It’s going to look grand and spacious, and considering the photo, I think it’ll work nicely. We’re also going to put a guard tower down front – they look amazing and will really give it the estate feel.

 

 

The Living Quarters

Right now I really wish that Wurm already had 2-story houses coded (the developers have that in the plans), but for now a 1-story will have to do. The placement of the house was done after I located a water tile (for a water source) at the back of the property. To give it some interest, we’re going to raise the water tile up about 15-20 slope, add an ornate fountain, and then plant roses on the surrounding sloped tiles, with white stone walls surrounding the roses. It should be a nice focal point. Surrounding the house will be, of course, more oak trees.

 

Everything Else

I decided to place all the main buildings on the side of the L-shaped terrace, mostly because it would keep them on the peripheral view of the main house, but it will also provide a nice little walkway in that area. Each guest house is 2×2 and has an attached 2×2 paddock for any animals or carts that belong to the visitors.

I also added a 2×7 workshop and storage area adjacent to the guesthouses, this should be big enough for forges, ovens, plenty of bulk storage, and whatever other “stuff” that needs to be held.  The front of the terrace became vineyards, they’ll be pretty for now and will provide room for easy expansion in case more buildings are needed later.

The stables went on the other side of the gardens, and they open into the farm fields and pasture in case there gets to be too many animals. To take care of that big ugly hump on the right side of the deed, we’re just going to plant trees to use for wood and metallurgy. That will make that area useful AND pretty, and camouflage the mountain that sits just adjacent to the deed.

So that’s pretty much it! It was surprisingly fun to design, and watching it come together as he builds it has been very nifty. It’s one thing to plan on an overhead view, but seeing everything go up in 3D is something else entirely. It should remain true to the vision of the original Medway Plantation, as well as being a beautiful and functional space for my friends.

Leave a Reply

