Cherryglade Farm

On my previous blog, Battle Priestess, I wrote a series of posts describing my first few days & weeks in Wurm. There’s no better way to kick off the Wild Boar Inn than by reposting those here for posterity.

Originally posted April 27, 2011:

I’ve been playing Wurm for about 4 weeks or so now, and while Wurm starts out kind of slow, it picks up speed as your skills increase and you get set up. Picking out your home spot is a big deal, as it’s where you’ll likely make your first financial investment in the game and where you’ll spend a lot of in-game time. You also have to think about the neighborhood… your neighbors will likely be the people you see & talk to daily, and of course you want nearby access to resources like clay & tar. Close proximity to a lake or coastline means that you’ll be able to fish for food and use a boat for travel, though the amount of coastline available in-game is of course limited and already fairly congested.

When I was thinking about where to settle, I kept being drawn to a stretch of road that I found while exploring on the first night, the road that runs between Silent Hill to the south and Shipyard of Poland to the north. The community map doesn’t exactly explain the area well, that road is basically uphill almost all the way & leads to the top of a great oceanside mountain. It was pretty much wilderness at that point, with only 1 or 2 settlements in the area, and it had almost an “enchanted forest” feel to it, with the fog rolling through the trees.

At the top of the mountain there was an area that leveled out a bit, with gently rolling hills, lots of space, and a great assortment of trees… pines, birches, cherries, lemons, & olives. I was home!

Welcome to Cherryglade Farm!

The first thing to do was pace out where I wanted the deed boundaries to be and actually set the deed up, which gave me a settlement token (looks kind of like a birdbath with a sundial on top) in the center tile. I originally went with a 10×10 deed, which actually is 21×21 tiles. I also purchased a guard for my deed, which is basically an NPC that hangs out and will kill any aggro animal or mob that wanders on deed, or any player that I’ve asked it to kill on sight.

You don’t really want to make people mad at you in this game. Those guards are rough, and WILL kill you if you wander onto a deed where the owner has added you to his KOS list.

Anyways, it was a slow start. I was happy just to have a safe spot where angry critters couldn’t reach me & where I could drop my stuff without worrying about theft. Sleeping under the stars wasn’t bad, but of course I wanted more. Because I am strange (and didn’t want to do double or triple work), I started by graphing out the tiles on my deed & deciding on a basic layout before I started doing anything else. While a lot of folks chop all their trees down & level everything out before building (not that there’s anything wrong with that), I wanted to preserve the natural area as much as possible. I started with terraforming a courtyard area, packing down where the cobble would eventually be, and setting up the forges & an oven.

A few days later, a neighbor mentioned to me that if I expanded my deed lengthwise along the road, I would be able to claim an abandoned mine that ran directly under my deed. Sold! I expanded my deed to be 10×27, which gave me a whopping 21×55 tiles & plenty of room for crop fields, animal paddocks, and orchards. Since then it’s been a gradual process of picking little projects and adding onto the deed… terraforming the crop fields, setting up fences, making paddocks, constructing houses, putting up signs, doing landscaping, and so on. For a long time, it looked terrible… dirt everywhere, half-built stuff, construction materials all over the place.

Here’s how it looks today!

Here’s the view from the road… the sign shows the name of my farm when you mouse over it. I love the shop signs in Wurm, they have a good selection of logos, everything from a beer mug to horses to a classic skull & crossbones.

The courtyard, with the settlement token & my house on the left. My crop fields are in the back, and I used olive trees (which most players hate because they obstruct views) as a hedge of sorts to hide that area.

The deer paddock. The deer graze on the pumpkins I have planted here, & I still get some harvest of pumpkins too. Deer are often bred for meat, leather, and other assorted parts. There’s a brown rooster in the foreground as well.

The forges. I decided to build two of them so that as one of them runs out of steam I can fire the other one up and keep going. There’s also a trash heap there, which accelerates the decay on anything put in it. It’s good for getting rid of scraps and items of poor quality.

The crop fields & horses. Horses, as well as cows & deer, are grazers and will eat grass until it’s dirt, which then needs to be replanted. You can also let them graze on crops, which last longer than regular grass, and as long as you don’t overcrowd your crop area you’ll still get good harvests.

The cow paddock… you can see where they’re eating my grass. Time to replant! Cows can be killed for meat and milked for cheese.

The entrance to my mine. While it was already there when I got here, it’s a really quite ingenious setup… the entrance is located on the side of the mountain ledge that my farm sits on, so it’s entirely under my deed. So far I’ve found two iron veins in it. I’m hoping for a copper or silver vein one of these days, or even zinc for white dye or lead for ship anchors. Mines have their own dangers… aggro critters like scorpions, spiders, lava spiders, and lava fiends can spawn in them from time to time and cave-ins sometimes happen as well. And they are pitch black if you don’t have a light source in them or on your person.

The crazy thing is that with all that’s already been done, I still have plenty to do. Tending the fields & animals is an ongoing project, and I still want to add a fence all around the perimeter of my deed, plant orchards, and add a guesthouse. Since my husband owns an adjacent deed, we’re also working on digging out a pathway between the two deeds, & setting up a vineyard along that walkway.

Leave a Reply

